The Extremely Versatile White Denim Vest

Standard

I just have a funny feeling about this trip. I do. A very excited feeling. I mean – it’s perfectly possible that nothing is going to happen and I’m just going to have to wait till my birthday. But who knows? There’s just this weird excitement in the air. There were trains blowing whistles in the night last night, and this morning too which is unusual, and that always seems to happen when there’s going to be a big change in my life, or I’m about to go somewhere new. I used to lie awake at night and listen to the train whistles the summer before I moved out, and think that I was going to go somewhere. I was going to get out of here.

I had a bunch of big projects this week that I have been scurrying to finish up all week long (not quite finished yet, but getting close), and when I need a break I have been intermittently packing. Let me show you my extremely versatile white denim vest! It just goes with absolutely everything.

When the Beast and I were at Niagara Falls over Memorial Day, we went to a bar called Legends where they took FOREVER to make our hamburgers, and I thought the bartender was just the neatest-looking girl with the coolest sense of fashion. She had on a maxi skirt with champagne-and-white chevrons, a white tank top and a faded denim vest. She also had matching rose-gold-colored sandals and bangles, which I thought was just about the coolest thing ever. (I spent a long time looking at her outfit because there was NOTHING else to do.) And eventually I decided that I really needed to get myself a denim vest. So I got this one from Target and, while it doesn’t look quite as cool on me as hers did on her, it still goes with all kinds of things, including these scandalous little short stripy skirts from Forever 21.

whitevest3

And with long skirts also!

whitevest1

I must show you these necklaces up close because they are both very cool. This one is a peacock!

whitevest2

And this one is a real butterfly wing encased in acrylic! The Beast got it for me when we were in Boston for the 4th of July. It was at a little street vendor in Quincy Market, and they also had flowers frozen in acrylic. But the butterfly wings were better because BUTTERFLIES.

whitevest4

I don’t imagine I’m going to be posting much over the next couple of weeks. We are leaving at 7am tomorrow. Maybe I will come back with a ring and maybe I will not. But I’m telling you, I just have a good feeling about this trip.

The best answer I ever heard to “How are you?” was “I’m hangin’ loose like a bucket of juice.” Hang loose y’all.

God be with you till we meet again. 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Extremely Versatile White Denim Vest

  1. hehe thank you! We are going to see the Grand Canyon, and we are spending two days in Vegas. which I didn’t even know really existed until the Beast made me watch a lot of CSI last winter. We are going out all the way West to Hollywood, and then we are coming back 🙂

Leave a Reply

